We challenge you to use STEM to improve Nevada!


Governor’s Office Announces Nevada K-12 STEM Challenge. 

With the 2016/2017 school year being declared Nevada’s “Year of STEM”, Governor Brian Sandoval is challenging Nevada’s students to address uniquely Nevada challenges using STEM. The Nevada K-12 STEM Challenge is designed to engage students and teachers in STEM problem solving as they address complex issues facing Nevada now and in future.

Nevada STEM Challenges

Throughout the Year of STEM, the Governor invites every student and teacher in Nevada to think about the following statewide problems and to present their solutions at student recognition events.
Challenge categories:

  • Drought and Water Conservation
  • Cybersecurity
  • State Parks
  • Land Use
  • Clean Energy
  • Environment
  • 21st Century Learning
  • Drones
  • Modern Transportation/Infrastructure/Autonomous Vehicles

Guidelines for K-12 STEM Challenge

Projects for the Nevada K-12 STEM should be student-led, teacher-supported, and seek to provide a solution to a specific challenge related to one of the challenge categories listed above. Students should use principles of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics, as well as research, team work, and critical thinking to present information about the challenge and their proposed solution. Completed projects should include a brief write up, a visual, and a 60 second video.

Recognition events

To recognize student efforts, there will be two events, one in Southern Nevada and one in Northern Nevada. The recognition events will be held in the spring of 2017. Additional details on the dates, times, and locations will be posted on this site in the coming months.

These events will provide an opportunity for students to showcase their projects to their families, other students and educators, as well as STEM professionals from the community. Professionals are invited to view the projects and mentor students. Students with exceptional projects will be invited to present their solutions to members of the Governor’s Cabinet for further study.